Age of the Universe according to Vedas

Vedas say that before the creation of the universe, Lord Vishnu was sleeping in the ocean of all causes. His bed is a giant serpent with thousands of cobra like hoods. By the way, in the trinity of Creator, Maintainer and Destroyer as mentioned in the Vedas. Lord Vishnu was – the maintainer, Brahma – the creator and Shiva – the destroyer. 
While Vishnu was asleep a lotus sprouts of his navel (note the naval is symbolized as the root of creation). Inside this lotus, Brahma resides. Bramha represents the universe which we all live in and it is this Bramha who creates life forms.

Now take break here. Vishnu is the personification of the eternal multiverse that exists forever without any beginning or end. Brahma is the personification of our temporary physical universe that was created in the Big Bang is said to have been created from the navel -which is a single point of Vishnu, described as a Lotus blooming out of the navel much like our Big Bang Universe.

Now this universe represented by Bramha is not a permanent universe. It is temporary. Brahma lives for 100 years said by the Vedas and then dies and then a new universe (Brahma) is born. So as per Vedas our universe lives for 100 years. Later we shall see how long each year of Brahma is. For now Brahma represents our universe which has birth and death, a big bang and a big crunch from an navel singularity. Vishnu represents the eternity that lies beyond our universe which has no birth or death and that which is eternal.

Many such universes like ours exist in Vishnu and Vedas say that thousands of Brahmas have passed away! In other words this is not the first time universe has been created. Let us come back to the time measurements now. Brahma lives for hundred year says Vedas and we are in the first day of the 51st year of the Brahma. Each year of Brahma has 360 days and we are in the first day of the 51st  year of our current Brahma. Coming back to a day of the Brahma.
Well there is day and night. Vedas say that during the day Brahma is busy in creation of life and during the night all life he created is absorbed back into him. So we will be there only for this day of Brahma which is the first day of his 51st year. But don’t feel sad, let me promise you this is a pretty long day. 

Image result for kalpa and manvantara

A day of Brahma

Each day of brahma is called a Kalpa, and this itself is very huge a number. No wonder, ancient Indians had to be perfect in mathematics before going into all these things.A kalpa is made up of brahma’s one day and one night.


The day has 14 Manvantaras. Similarly the night has an equal 14 Manvantaras. But then Brahma is resting in the night, so lets get back to the day again. We are in the 7th Manvantara of Brahma’s this day, say the vedas.


Each Manvantara is made up of 71 Mahayuga. We are in the 28th Mahayuga of this Manvantara say the vedas.A Mahayuga is a collection of 4 Yugas. Maha means giant or huge.The 4 yugas are Satya Yuga (also called Krita Yuga), Treta Yuga, Dwapara Yuga, Kali Yuga. We are in the Kaliyuga of our current Mahayuga say the vedas.

Satya Yuga lasts for 40% of its Mahayuga – Age of divine where humans need no physical means to exist and are in direct contact with the God

Treta Yuga lasts for 30% of its Mahayuga – Age where bad deeds start appearing, still there is lot of truth, infact 3/4 of this age is still goodness

Dwapara Yuga lasts for 20% of its Mahayuga-Dwapara means after the second, where there are almost equal amount of good and bad

Kali Yuga lasts for 10% of its Mahayuga- Kali means Darkness in Sanskrit (not to be confused with Kaali which is godess), no wonder we are in this age

Now finally we have reached to a timescale which we can relate to our own years.1 Kaliyuga = 432000 solar years!

Image result for yuga cycle

1 thought on “Age of the Universe according to Vedas

Leave a Reply